



Speech by

DESLEY BOYLE

MEMBER FOR CAIRNS

Hansard 20 July 2000

PIERRE DE COUBERTIN AWARD

Ms BOYLE (Cairns—ALP) (10.23 a.m.): Several weeks ago I was pleased to be present when the Education Minister, Dean Wells, presented students with the prestigious Pierre de Coubertin Award at a Parliament House ceremony. The award was given to 165 students from around Queensland, although not all of them could be present to receive them personally. The award, which is named after the French nobleman who founded the modern Olympics in Athens in 1896, recognises high school sporting achievers who embody the Olympic movement. Mr Wells was joined by awards committee chair, Olympian Marlene Matthews, who said that the important thing about the awards was to keep the Olympic spirit alive and well in Queensland schools.

The Queensland Olympic Council invited all Queensland schools to nominate a Year, 10, 11 or 12 student who has represented their school in sport. Those students then submitted an original literary, visual or musical work which illustrated their appreciation of the Olympic movement. Of the 165 students who received the awards, 10 came from far-north Queensland. Understandably, it was very difficult and most were unable to attend, although I am pleased to say that, through unusual circumstances, John Inskip from Cairns State High School was able to be present to receive his award.

Nonetheless, I hope that the disappointment of the others in not being present to receive their award may be compensated by having their names recognised today in the parliamentary record for the recognition of their achievement with the well wishes of all members of this House. I certainly know that other Government members from far-north Queensland such as Steve Bredhauer, Warren Pitt and Lesley Clark join with me in saying congratulations to Amy Dickinson from the Woree State High School, Shani-Lee Harper from the Smithfield State High School, John Inskip from the Cairns State High School, Jacqui Kelly from St Monica's College, Oskar Lewandrowski from the Mossman State High School, Jonelle Locastro from Good Counsel College and Jarrod Moulton from St Augustine's College. Because of the time, I table the paper to conclude the list.

Time expired.